1) Take buses NO.5,17,22,25,27,42, 46, 58, 82,301
Qingyang Taoist Temple is located on the West Section 2 of First Ring Road, Chengdu , by the beautiful Jinjiang River. "Qingyang" literally means"green ram". So the Qingyang Temple got its popular name from the two blue-green goats made of bronze in the Sanqing main Hall.
As an active centre dedicated to teaching and preaching Taoism, many monks and traditional doctors operate from Qingyang Taoist Temple. Visitors can also watch the traditional musical instrument guqin being played, by music teachers. An excellent vegetarian restaurant and teahouse can also be found in the precincts of the temple, where one can rub shoulders with the locals and discover the allure of ancient China. Enjoy this gem among the many Chengdu tourist attractions on your next visit to the city.
The Qingyang Gong Daoist Temple has been famous as "No 01 Taoist Temple in Sichuan" and "No.01 Temple in West China". Now It is a famous tourism and sightseeing attraction of Taoist cultural heritage.
First built in Zhou Dynasty (1046 BC-249BC), Qingyang Taoist Temple was originally called Qingyang Fair. In the first year of Zhonghe Period (881) of Xizhong Reign of Tang Dynasty (618-907), the emperor retreated to the place of Qingyang Temple to avoid the chaos. After the upheaval was calmed down, the emperor allocated a sum of money to expand the temple and issued an imperial edict to change the name of the place into Qingyang Palace. This temple was flourishing in Tang Dynasty.
In Ming Dynasty (1368 - 1644), the temple buildings built in Tang Dynasty were unfortunately damaged in natural disaster and wars. Today's Qingyang Temple is the result of successive reconstructions during the six to tenth year of Kangxi of Qing Dynasty (1644 - 1911).
Hunyuan Hall, the second important hall in the temple after the main Sanqing Hall. Hunyuan Hall was rebuilt during reign of Emperior Kangxi in Qing Dynasty. It is about 22 meters high and suppported by 28 columns and covers an area of 600 square mteters. Enshrined in the hall are Taishang Laojun and Goddess of Great Compassion.
Sanqing Hall is the main building in the temple where stand two eye-catching bronze goats, which were said to be taken from Beijing during the Qing Dynasty.
Please Ask Question About China Attraction Here!
or You can directly E-mail to: email@example.com